Hinduism Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for followers of the Hindu religion and those interested in learning more about Hinduism. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
  • Where are the details about the 7 chakras mentioned in Hindu scriptures?
  • What is their significance?
share|improve this question
up vote 8 down vote accepted

There are seven chakras in a Human body as Yoga and Tantra prescribes. These are:

  1. Sahasrara (सहस्रार्)
  2. Agya (आग्या)
  3. Vishuddi (विशुध्दि)
  4. Anahata (अनाहत)
  5. Manipura (मणिपुर)
  6. Swadhisthana (स्वाधिशतान)
  7. Muladhara (मूलाधार)

enter image description here

Chakras are supposed to be mystic power centres in human body along the spine. Kundalini Shakti (often called Serpent Power) is dormant in a normal human and has to be awakened to reach ultimate consciousness.

When the Kundalini awakens, it uncoils up breaking open these chakras and activating them untill the Shakti unites with her Shiva at Sahasrara Chakra. Tantric traditions give immense importance to awakening of Kundalini Shakti.

The awakening of each Chakra is supposed to elevate ones consciousness to higher levels along with providing certain siddhis to the yogi. The eight siddhis (Ashtasiddhi अष्टसिध्दि) are:

  • Aṇimā: reducing one's body even to the size of an atom
  • Mahima: expanding one's body to an infinitely large size
  • Garima: becoming infinitely heavy
  • Laghima: becoming almost weightless
  • Prāpti: having unrestricted access to all places
  • Prākāmya: realizing whatever one desires
  • Iṣṭva: possessing absolute lordship
  • Vaśtva: the power to subjugate all

This ascent through the chakras can be viewed as an upward journey through the self which refines and subtilizes the energy that is the kundalini, until at the sixth chakra, the Ajna, center of command, a qualitative change has taken place. The chakras are centers of transformation of psychic or mental energy into spiritual energy.

Further readings:

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.