I have read in wiki about Omkareshwar Jyotirlinga. Before I knew this one is called Omkareshwar, But when I read in wiki, they call it Mamleshwar. I got confused. Can anyone give insight on it? Thank you.

2 Answers 2


Omkareswara is the 4th one among the total 12 Jyotirlingams.

It is situated in Shivapuri or Mamaleswara, a place in Madhya Pradesh.

Refer to the "Dwadasa Jyotirlinga Stotram" found here:

Sourashtre Somanadham, cha Sri Shaile Mallikarjunam, Ujjayinyam Maha Kalam, Omkara Mamaleshwaram, Paralyam Vaidyanatham, cha Dakinyam Bhimasankaram,

Meaning of the words in bold: In Mamaleswara the Jyotirlinga is called Omkara.

So,both "Omkareswara" and "Mamaleswara" refer to the same Jyotirlingam with Mamaleswara referring to the place where the Jyotirlinaga is situated and Omkareswara to the name or the form of the Lingam.

Also refer to this page ,where the name of the 12 Jyotirlingams are given in bold:

The Dwadasa Jyotirlinga Stotra Saurashtre Somanaatham Cha Sree Shaile Mallikarjunam Ujjayinyaam Mahaakaalam Omkaare Mamaleswaram Himalaye to Kedaram Daakinyaam Bhimashankaram Vaaranaasyaam cha Viswesam Trayambakam Gowtameethate Paralyaam Vaidyanaatham cha Naagesam Daarukaavane Setubandhe Ramesham Grushnesam cha Shivaalaye

Edit- I'm adding yet another source which says exactly the opposite of what is being said in the above.It says Omkara is the place where the Jyotirlingam is situated and the Lingam is called Amareswara.

It is a stotram composed by Nandi(the Bull) and is found in the Shiva Purana.

Quoting from this page,the following is the description of the 12 Jyotirlingams as given by Nandi:

Kedaro Himavatprushthe Daakinyaam Bhimasankarah

Vaaranaasyam cha Viswestriumbako Gautami thatey

Saurashtrey Sommanathasva Srisaile Mallikarjunah

Ujjainyam Maha Kala Omkare cha Amaresvarah

Vaidyanathaaschitha bhumo Nagesho Daarukaananey

Sethu bandhe cha Ramesho Ghrusneswara Siva lingo

Avatara Dvadasakamethchhambhoh Paramatmana

Nandiswara described the Most Celebrated Twelve Jyotirlingas of Maha Deva as follows:

Kedarnath in Himalayas

Bhima Sankar in Dakinya

Viswesvara in Varanasi

Triambaka on the banks of River Gautami

Somnatha in Saurashtra

Mallikarjuna in Sri Sailam

Maha Kala in Ujjain

Amareswara at Omkara

Vaidyanatha in Chitha Bhumi

Nagesa at Daruka

Rameswara at Setu Bandhana, and


Also if you see the images of the 12 Jyotirlingams in the above page then you will find that the fourth Jyotirlingam there is mentioned collectively as

Sri Omakaramamaleswara,Sri Amalaeswara

Now, both of them can't be a Jyotirlingam each because there are only 12 of them & not 13.

So,both taken together constitutes one Jyotirlingam.This is the most rational and acceptable answer.

  • But in wiki, It is written: On a request of all the gods and the sages Lord Shiva made two parts of the lingas. One half is called Omkareshwara and the other Mamaleshwar or Amareshwar.
    – TheLittleNaruto
    Commented Mar 26, 2016 at 9:16
  • @TheLittleNaruto I have added another link.Omkareswar is the Jyotirlingam and Mamaleswar refers to the place.
    – Rickross
    Commented Mar 26, 2016 at 9:53
  • In wiki, it is also written, There is a bridge over Narmada river connecting Omkareshwar temple and Mamleshwar temple.
    – TheLittleNaruto
    Commented Mar 28, 2016 at 5:20
  • Omkareswara is the Jyotirlinga.Another temple is certainly there ,its called Amaraswara or Mamleswara like u have said, but that is not the Jyotirlingam as per the Dwadasa Jyotirlinga Stotram.So,the answer to ur question is-OMKARESWARA.
    – Rickross
    Commented Mar 28, 2016 at 6:13
  • The first link you shared in your answer, there also, it is written, "Other story says that the Shivalinga was split into two upon the request of the Devas. Thus, the formation of Omkareshwara and Amareshwar."
    – TheLittleNaruto
    Commented Mar 28, 2016 at 22:19

सौराष्ट्रे सोमनाथंच श्री शैले मल्लिकार्जुनम् |
उज्जयिन्यां महाकालमोंकारममलेश्वरम् ||

In this verse, Mamleshwar in Omkareshwar region is called Jyotirlinga. Both Omkareshwar and Mamaleshwar are in the form of the same Jyotirlinga, Mamaleshwar on the south bank of the Narmada and Omkareshwar sits on the Omkar Parvat towards the north and the mother Narmada sits in the middle.

Reference: Mamleshwar Jyotirlinga


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .