As per Shiva Purana which 28 avatars of Shiva did he tell to Brahma? Also Shiva said the names of Sage Vyasa of each Mahayuga. What are those?

  • 1
    What do you mean by 27 Kalpa? Do you mean 27th Kalpa? These two Chapters of Shiva Puranas explain different avatars of Shiva in each Mahayuga in this Vaivasra Manvantara of Sweta Varaha Kalpa. For different Vyass in each Mahayuga, see this answer.
    – The Destroyer
    May 25, 2016 at 11:15
  • No one by one kalpa happens and in every kalpa shiva's avatars will incranate. That description is given in shiv purana. But I forgot.
    – prem30488
    May 25, 2016 at 12:12
  • 1
    Those chapters describe various Yogavatars of Shiva who specially incarnated to teach Yoga techniques to people of Kali Yuga in every Mahayuga. It looks like you mistook Mahayuga for Kalpa. Read the chapter of Shiva Purana i linked in my 1st comment.
    – The Destroyer
    May 25, 2016 at 16:22
  • ved vyasa names i see but shiva avatars?
    – prem30488
    May 27, 2016 at 5:21

1 Answer 1


Chapter 4 and 5 of Satarudrasamhita of Shiva Purana describes the 28 Avatars of Shiva. Shiva takes these avatars at end of every Dvapara Yuga with Vyasa to teach Yoga techniques for people of Kali Yuga. He will have 4 disciples in each Yuga and these disciples teach the people of Kali Yuga and help them in liberation. These are the names of Avatars of Shiva in chronological order in this Vaivastara Manvnatara of Svetavaraha Kalpa.

  1. Sveta muni
  2. Sutaara
  3. Damana
  4. Suhotra
  5. Kanka
  6. Lokaaksi
  7. Jaigeesaavya
  8. Dashivaahana
  9. Rsabha (well known Avatar of Shiva)
  10. Brgu
  11. Kaali
  12. Puru
  13. Bali
  14. Gautama
  15. Vedavarsin
  16. Gokarna
  17. Grhasvami
  18. Sikhandi
  19. Jaatimali
  20. Attahas
  21. Daaruka
  22. Laanguli Bheema
  23. Sveta
  24. Sooli
  25. Dandi
  26. Sahinsu
  27. Somasarma
  28. Yogatma and becomes popular by name Lakuli.

Lakuli is identified as Lakulish who revived Pasupata Sect.

For different Vyasas, see this answer.

Note: Shiva Purana doesn't contain some names. So, those names are taken from Kurma Purana (Pg No- 333)

  • Is it rishabha? Jan 4, 2017 at 18:21
  • @SreeCharan Rshba is sage while Sharabha is bird. You can read story of Rshba from Satarudra Samhita of Shiva Purana.
    – The Destroyer
    Jan 4, 2017 at 18:22

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .