We all know that there are 18 puranas in the Hindu mythology. The puranas were composed one after the another. What is the sequential order of the puranas, from the first to the last?

  • 2
    Do you want actual chronological order (each Purana is composed in different Kalpas according to Matsya Purana)? or do you want chronological order of Puranas recounted by Vyasa? or Chronological order of Puranas written during Gupta Period? – The Destroyer May 28 '16 at 8:59
  • @TheDestroyer do you have chronological order of Puranas written in Gupta period...? – Tezz May 28 '16 at 11:38
  • @Tezz No. I want to make OP clear which part he is interested. – The Destroyer May 28 '16 at 11:50
  • 1
    @TheDestroyer: I want the chronological order in Vyasa recounted. – Indu Bhusan Nath May 28 '16 at 16:46
  • @Pandya, do u want a script to automatically remove the mythology tag ? – mar Jun 19 '20 at 8:08

The order of the appearance of different Purans is given in the Matsya Puran Chapter 53 as narrated by Suta.

enter image description here

According to the text the order of the appearance of the Purans is as follows:

  1. Brahma Puran
  2. Padma Puran
  3. Vishnu Puran
  4. Vayu Puran
  5. Bhagvat Puran
  6. Naradiya Puran
  7. Markandeya Puran
  8. Agni Puran
  9. Bhavishya Puran
  10. Brahmavaivarta Puran
  11. Linga Puran
  12. Varah Puran
  13. Skanda Puran
  14. Vaman Puran
  15. Kurma Puran
  16. Matsya Puran
  17. Garud Puran
  18. Brahmand Puran
  • But time is cyclic. I want to know how this order is given, I mean based on yugas or something? – Krishna Shweta Sep 7 '17 at 6:19
  • And what about Devi bhagavata purana? – Krishna Shweta Sep 7 '17 at 8:21
  • @KrishnShweta these are the only 18 Purans mentioned in this text. From what I could understand this order is chronological as per the different Kalpas and Manvantars. – Dr. Vineet Aggarwal Sep 7 '17 at 8:29
  • 1
    @KrishnShweta Bhagavata Purana in list is Srimad Bagavatam for Vaishnavas and Devi Bhagavatam for Shaktas. – The Destroyer Sep 7 '17 at 8:35
  • 1
    Nice answer . Just for info. - Here is another list from Shreemad Bhagvat Purana - vedabase.com/en/sb/12/7/23-24 – SwiftPushkar Sep 7 '17 at 9:10

Srimad Bhagavata Purana lists sequential order of Puranas:

SB 12.13.4-8

  • The Brahma Purāṇa consists of ten thousand verses,
  • The Padma Purāṇa consists of fifty-five thousand verses,
  • Śrī Viṣhṇu Purāṇa consists of twenty-three thousand verses,
  • The Śhiva Purāṇa consists of twenty-four thousand verses
  • The Śrīmad-Bhāgavatam consists of eighteen thousand verses,
  • The Narada Purana has twenty-five thousand verses,

  • The Mārkaṇḍeya Purāṇa has nine thousand verses,

  • The Agni Purāṇa has fifteen thousand four hundred verses,

  • The Bhaviṣya Purāṇa has fourteen thousand five hundred verses,

  • The Brahma-vaivarta Purāṇa has eighteen thousand verses,

  • The Liṅga Purāṇa has eleven thousand verses,

  • The Varāha Purāṇa contains twenty-four thousand verses,

  • The Skanda Purāṇa contains eighty-one thousand one hundred verses,

  • The Vāmana Purāṇa contains ten thousand verses,

  • The Kūrma Purāṇa contains seventeen thousand verses,

  • The Matsya Purāṇa contains fourteen thousand verses,

  • The Garuḍa Purāṇa contains nineteen thousand verses and

  • The Brahmāṇḍa Purāṇa contains twelve thousand verses.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .