I know very little about what Hindus believe about the existence of different lokas (worlds). For example:

  • Par Loka (heaven)
  • Paathal Loka (underworld)
  • Bhu Loka (Earth)

I want to know, - Exactly how many lokas (or worlds) are there? - Who lives there?

I just know that we people live on Bhuloka (Earth).

I heard once there are 54 lokas but I don't know anything about them.

  • Indra lok should be the fourth world I think. – Mr_Green Jun 19 '14 at 12:36
  • Indra Lok is a part of what you think is par lok... – user3459110 Jun 19 '14 at 12:48
  • 2
    This is too vague a question because "loka" in sanskrit just means "a location" (and, by extension, "locals"). Your home could also be called "greenloka" and people would understand. Typically, planets or planetary systems are called "lokas". There are also infinite Vishnulokas=Vaikunthalokas outside the material universe. – user3603546 Jun 20 '14 at 0:35
  • @user3603546 I don't know what exactly it is known as that is why I mentioned as "Worlds" in brackets. feel free to edit it with what exactly the word "world" is known as in Hindi/Sanskrit. – Mr_Green Jun 20 '14 at 5:20
  • Found a link about lokas – Mr_Green Jun 30 '14 at 7:11

Following is a list of lokas:





Svarga-loka (the indra lok)


Bhu-loka (where we live)







Patala-loka (where dwell the snakes)

Yama-loka (where the evil get punishment for sins)

I don't think there could be 54 lokas. These are all of them.

Most of them are where a soul or living being goes (if they are not reborn) after death on the basis of their karma.

We live on Bhu-lok (our dear dear Earth).

  • 3
    The locas you described are where we born again (reincarnated) according to our good or bad karma. When the karma fal (result) is finished. We born again in earth. These lokas are still in the material world and not end of the journey. the word human should be replaced with living beings or soul. human body is just a meat suit or a chance we get to re unite with Krishna (god) after full submission as his servant. – Sisir Jun 19 '14 at 13:15
  • @AwalGarg, I am saying 54, because I had read it somewhere long back ago. as Hindu Numerical system sums any sacred/holy number to 9 i.e 5 + 4 = 9. I would have believed you if atleast the sum of the digits would have been 9. – Mr_Green Jun 19 '14 at 18:05
  • @AwalGarg Is Yama-lok for punishment (ie. kinda like Christian Hell)? I thought Yama-lok was just the home of Yama-dev (and Chitragupta etc) and the paap-punya (sin-unsin(??)) account only came up for re-incarnation? – Shisa Jun 20 '14 at 1:26
  • @Shisa Yes. Yama lok is where Yama dev lives. Punishments for sin are offered there. – user3459110 Jun 20 '14 at 7:21
  • 1
    And dhyuloka and Goloka? – Curiosity May 23 '16 at 11:29

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .