There are five methods of chanting the Rudram viz.

  1. Ordinary method (aka 1 Rudram) = where first Namakam (all 11 anuväkas) are read followed by the Chamakam.
  2. Rudra ekadasini= where after chanting Rudram, the first anuväka of Chamakam is chanted, again after chanting Rudram the second anuväka of Chamakam is chanted and so on till the eleventh chanting of Rudram followed by eleventh anuväka of Chamakam.
  3. Eleven such Rudra ekadasinis makes one Laghu Rudram.
  4. Eleven such Laghu Rudrams makes one Maha Rudram.
  5. Eleven such Maha Rudrams make one Athi Rudram.

I would like to know the significance of AthiRudra MahaYagnam. with respect to Physical, Spiritual and Scientific level. Any one who know please shed some light . Thanks

  • 3
    One can get immortality by reciting Sri Rudram. It is confirmed in two Upanishads: Kaivalya Upanishad and Jabala Upanishad... – Tezz Sep 24 '16 at 11:14
  • @tezz Thanks, Want to know more based on the 3 levels mentioned above – mano Sep 24 '16 at 11:34
  • 2
    @TheDestroyer - Nice explanation in edit. – SwiftPushkar Sep 24 '16 at 13:16

You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .