Gana Kuta has three classifications:

  • deva
  • manushya
  • rakshasa

Which Hindu text says about it and what does it imply?

Suppose a human belongs to deva gana, is he superior to the other two ganas?

What are the gana of Gods like Rama and Krishna?


1 Answer 1


Some basic things about Rasis and Nakshtras are to be understood first:

First the zodiac was divided into 12 main rasis, to study the effects of the planets placed there. Then the ancient seers added another sub divisional system of breaking down the zodiac into 27 Nakshatras or star constellations. Each nakshatra has a span of 13 degrees and 20 minutes. After that each nakshatra was further subdivided into 4 Padas, or quarters, of 3 degrees and 20 minutes. Hence the first zodiac sign Aries, which has 30 degrees, contains the entire 4 padas (13:20′) of the 1st star constellation Ashwini, the entire 4 padas (13:20′) of the 2nd star constellation Bharani and the 1st pada (3:20′) of the third star constellation Krittika. So each rasi contains total 9 padas. These nakshatras belong to three main groups: Deva or divine, Manusha or human and Rakshasa or Demonic.

And,yes Gana Koota is authentic and The Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra text mentions about the 3 Ganasa viz:Deva ,Manushya and Rakshasa.

In Chapter 6 (titled "Sixteen divisions of Rasis")the concept is described as follows:

O Maharishi Parasar, I have known from you about the Grahas, Rashis and their descriptions. I desire to know the details of various divisions of a Rashi, will you please narrate. 2-4. Names of the 16 Vargas. Lord Brahma has described 16 kinds of Vargas (Divisions) for each Rashi. Listen to those. The names are Rashi, Hora, Dreshkan, Chaturthans, Saptans, Navans, Dashans, Dvadashans, Shodashans, Vimshans, Chaturvimshans, Saptavimshans, Trimshans, Khavedans, Akshavedans and Shashtians.....

The Navans calculation are for a Movable Rashi from there itself, for a Fixed Rashi from the 9th thereof and for a Dual Rashi from the 5th thereof. They go by designations Deva (divine), Manushya (human) and Rakshasa (devilish) in a successive and repetitive order for a Movable Rashi. (Manushya, Rakshasa and Deva are the order for a Fixed Rashi, while Rakshasa, Manushya and Deva are a Dual Rashi’s order)

Calculating like the way mentioned above, we arrive at the following classification of 27 Nakshtras as per their Ganas:

Deva Gana Nakshatras:Aswini, Mrigasira, Punarvasu, Pushya, Hasta, Swati, Anuradha, Shravana, Revati.

Manushya Gana Nakshtras:Bharani, Rohini, Ardra, Purvaphalguni, Uttaraphalguni, Purvashada, Uttarashada, Purvabhadrapada, Uttarabhadrapada.

Rakshasa Gana Nakshatras:Krittika, Aslesha, Magha, Chitra, Visakha, Jyesta, Moola, Dhanista, Satabhisha.

Lord Rama's nakshtra is Punarvasu ,so Deva Gana & Lord Krishna's nakshatra is Rohini,so Manushya Gana.

Suppose a human belongs to deva gana, is he supreme than other two ganas and so on?

Generally speaking,one belonging to Deva Gana will be more of a Sattvik nature person,Manushya Gana of Rajasik and Raksasha Gana of Tamasik nature.But in calculating the nature of person as a whole "Nakshtra Gana" is not the only deciding factor.The 5 limbs or "Panchangas" of a birth consist of Nakshatra,Tithi,Vara,Yoga &Karanam.And each of these 5 limbs has their equal contribution in shaping a personality.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .