The Skand Purana says Sati was born in the 1st Manvantar of the Pitri Kalpa which was the 30th Kalpa in the second Parardha of Brahma.

enter image description here

The text again says that Parvati was born in the Vaivasvat i.e. 7th Manvantar of the present Varah Kalpa.

enter image description here

Does this imply that the present Varah Kalpa is the 31st one or were there other Kalpas too in between? If there were what is the order of our present Kalpa in Brahma's second Parardha?**

EDIT: Vayu Purana Chapter 21 mentions 34 Kalpas:

The kalpas since the original creation were as follows. (1) Bhava. (2) Bhuva. (3) Tapah. (4) Bhava. (5) Rambha. (6) Ritu. (7) Kratu. (8) Vahni. (9) Havyavahana. (10) Savitra. (11) Bhuvah. (12) Oushika. (13) Kushika. (14) Gandharva. (15) Rishabha. (16) Shadaja. (17) Marjaliya. (18) Madhyama. (19) Vairaja. The great Vairaja Manu was born in this kalpa and his son was the great sage Dadhichi. (20) Nishada. The race of nishadas (hunters) were created during this period. (21) Panchama. (22) Meghavahana. The word megha means cloud and vahana means to bear. In this kalpa, Vishnu adopted the form of a cloud and bore Shiva on his back. It is thus that the kalpa received its name. (23) Chintaka. (24) Akuti. (25) Vijnati. (26) Mana. (27) Bhava. (28) Vrihat. (29) Shvetalohita. (30) Rakta. (31) Pitavasa. (32) Sita. (33) Krishna (34) Vishvarupa.

So then are we in the 35th Kalpa?

  • Do you have the Vayu Purana book? – Rickross Sep 7 '17 at 4:02
  • Different Puranas mention different number for same Sweta Varaha kalpa. – The Destroyer Sep 7 '17 at 4:15
  • 1
    @TheDestroyer there must be some efforts at a consensus on this? Or has no one ever tried to come to a conclusion. BTW are the Shwet Varah and Varah Kalpa the same? – Dr. Vineet Aggarwal Sep 7 '17 at 4:45
  • 2
    @Dr.VineetAggarwal yes. Sweta Varaha Kalpa and Varaha Kalpa are same as at beginning of this Kalpa, Lord Vishnu took Sweta Varaha (white Boar) incarnation. But there is other Kalpa called Sweta kalpa which is different. All Stories of Shiva Purana happened in Sweta kalpa while Vishnu Purana stories are of current Kalpa (Sweta varaha). – The Destroyer Sep 7 '17 at 4:59
  • @Dr.VineetAggarwal It's actually confusing. I tried to find out chronological order of Kalpas from all Puranas. But due to varied nature of orders, i couldn't come to any conclusion. – The Destroyer Sep 7 '17 at 5:00

You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .