We know that the PurAnas have 5 signs or lakshnas. If a scripture does not have those 5 signs then it can not be called a PurAna.

These 5 signs are shared by all PurAnas i.e by the 18 major (mahA) and the 18 minor (upa) ones.

For the major PurAnas, however, there are additional 5 signs, so in all 10 signs are there for any major PurAna.

Likewise, the Tantras also have several lakshanas. The YAmala Tantras too has separate such lakshanas of their own.

I want to know, whether the ItihAshas too have some signs? If yes, what are those and in which scriptures are they mentioned?



You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .