We know that the PurAnas have 5 signs or lakshnas. If a scripture does not have those 5 signs then it can not be called a PurAna.

These 5 signs are shared by all PurAnas i.e by the 18 major (mahA) and the 18 minor (upa) ones.

For the major PurAnas, however, there are additional 5 signs, so in all 10 signs are there for any major PurAna.

Likewise, the Tantras also have several lakshanas. The YAmala Tantras too has separate such lakshanas of their own.

I want to know, whether the ItihAshas too have some signs? If yes, what are those and in which scriptures are they mentioned?

  • 1
    Possible duplicate of Why are only Ramayana and Mahabharata classified as Itihasa? – user1195 Sep 10 '17 at 10:12
  • Do u have any idea about what i am asking here?? @moonstar2001 – Rickross Sep 10 '17 at 10:16
  • 1
    More than you realise.Read the comments and answers to the Q suggested and you will see the overlap. – user1195 Sep 10 '17 at 10:18
  • Really ?? But nothing i could find there ... Now what? @moonstar2001 – Rickross Sep 10 '17 at 10:40
  • 1
    Just like "Why a PurAna is so called (asking for nirukti)?" and "what are the lakshanas of PurAnas?" are not exactly the same Qs similarly here. @moonstar2001 – Rickross Sep 10 '17 at 10:42

You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .