From Wiki:

The earliest list of the Seven Rishis is given by Jaiminiya Brahmana 2.218-221: Agastya, Atri, Bhardwaja, Gautam, Jamadagni, Vasistha and Vishvamitra followed by Brihadaranyaka Upanisad 2.2.6 with a slightly different list: Gautama and Bharadvaja, Visvamitra and Jamadagni, Vasistha and Kashyapa and Atri, Bhrigu. The late Gopatha Brahmana 1.2.8 has Vasistha, Vishvamitra, Jamadagni, Gautama, Bharadvaja, Gungu, Agastya, Bhrigu and Kashyapa.

The word Sapta Rishi therefore refers to a group of seven sages.

While checking I found out that there are entire Rig Vedic Suktas that were revealed to them.

For example, Rig Veda Mandala 9 Sukta 107 and Rig Veda Mandala 10 Sukta 137, both have Sapta Rshayah as the Seer (Rishi).

Now, what does this mean? I mean Mantras and Suktas having one Rishi as the Seer is understandable but simultaneously seven sages were the Mantra Drashta?

  • Does it mean that all the Mantras of these two Suktas were revealed simultaneously to all the seven sages? Or each Mantra of the Suktas has one among the seven sages or the other as their Seers? Or something else?

enter image description here enter image description here

You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .