In this verse from Srimad Bhagavatham 4.7.41, Fire God is praising Narayana.

The fire-god said: My dear Lord, I offer my respectful obeisances unto You because by Your favor I am as luminous as blazing fire and I accept the offerings mixed with butter and offered in sacrifice. The five kinds of offerings according to the Yajur Veda are all Your different energies, and You are worshiped by five kinds of Vedic hymns. Sacrifice means You, the Supreme Personality of Godhead.

I want to know,

  1. What are the five kind of offerings that are given in Yajurveda?
  2. What are the five kind of vedic hymns?
  • 2
    5 offerings are the pancha pooja - gandham, pushpam, dhoopam, deepam and naivedyam each representing one of the 5 elements.
    – user1195
    Commented Apr 26, 2018 at 16:44
  • @moonstar dhoopam means incense sticks?
    – user6981
    Commented Apr 26, 2018 at 16:49
  • yes krishna shweta.
    – user1195
    Commented Apr 26, 2018 at 16:53
  • 2
    @SK come to North India, they are offered in North indian temples too- it's Vedic not North Indian and South Indian.
    – Anisha
    Commented Apr 26, 2018 at 16:59
  • 2
    I dont think its panchopachara pooja Commented Apr 27, 2018 at 0:55

1 Answer 1


Five kinds of offerings are referring to Vedic sacrifices or the sacred fires recommended for householders because they are said by Agni and he is sapeaking about Vedic sacrifices and offering made in the yajnas.

Following is the alternate translation of the verse according to Motilal Publications.

Agni said:

  1. I, whose flames are brightly enkindled by your light, bear the offerings soaked in ghee, in every good sacrifice. I bow to you who are sacrifice incarnate, and the protector of sacrifices—you who are fivefold in form and are duly worshipped by five hymns of the Yajurveda.

Various commentators (Sridhara Swamy, Vishvanatha Chakravarthi, Shuka Deva of Nimbarka Sampradaya, Giridhara) on Bhagavatam has opined that the five fold representation represent following five sacrifices.

  • Agnihotra

  • Darsha

  • Purnamasa

  • Chaturmasya

  • Pashusoma

These are the sacrifices performed in the ancient period and are mentioned in the Vedas.

Veera Raghavacharaya gave the five forms as

  • Dakshina

  • Avahaniya

  • Garhapatya

  • Sabhya

  • Avasathya

Above five are called five sacred fires which are kept by the house holders. These are mentioned in the Yajurveda as said in the Bhagavata Purana. Refer Different types of sacred fires from Vedic Period?.

According to Vijaya dhwaja five fold form as:

  • Yajna

  • Yajna Purusha

  • Yajnesha

  • Yajna Bhavana

  • Yajna bhuj

The five hymns of the Yajurveda are:

  1. Ashravaya

  2. Shraushat

  3. Yaja

  4. Ye Yajamahe

  5. Vaushat

    From a google groups discussion post,

    In a yaj~na, the following happens (my humble prostrations to my R^igveda AchArya, shrii kR^iShNabhaTTa ghanapAThI who gave me, a worthless person, an opportunity to be an Agniidhra in a yaj~na and be able to mumble the following):

    1. The adhvaryu (expert in yajurveda) asks the Agniidhra (a person who is given the responsibility of driving away duShTa shaktis.) to look around (and ensure that there are no rAkShasas to disturb the yaj~na). For this, he utters the word: AshrAvaya or O shrAvaya (make us listen).

    2. The Agniidhra gives his consent by saying astu = may it be, shrauShaT = the word which removes duShTa shaktis. He has a wooden sword with him which he brings down ceremonially while pronouncing so.

    3. After listening to shrauShaT, the adhvaryu tells the hotaa (expert in R^igveda) to recite the shastra (shastra not shaastra. shastra is the recitation of R^igvedic mantras in a monotone ending with OM). the order given by the adhvaryu is "yaja" = may you call the devas.

    4. the hotaa accedes to the order and says, "ye yajAmahe" = here we invite.

    5. after the shastra is pronounced, he finishes it by saying OM and vauShaT. concurrent to hearing of vauShaT, the adhvaryu gives Ahuti to agni.

So, above are the five kinds of hymns recited in a yajna.

  • 1
    Thanks for the answer. The 5 kind of hymns you said are recited during yajna, but given verse says "worshipped by five hymns of the Yajurveda". Are both same?
    – user6981
    Commented Apr 27, 2018 at 16:08
  • 2
    @KrishnaShweta Yes, they are the same.
    – User9125
    Commented Apr 28, 2018 at 6:58
  • 1
    Very interesting answer!
    – Surya
    Commented Apr 28, 2018 at 8:27
  • These look more of insividual mantras than a hymn.... Commented Apr 28, 2018 at 16:43
  • 2
    @RakeshJoshi Yes, they are mantrras only not hymns (if you take hymns as sukta). The problem is with English translation. The word used is Yajus in the Sanskrit shloka in the Bhagavatam.
    – User9125
    Commented Apr 29, 2018 at 5:30

You must log in to answer this question.