We have four types of Moksha - Salokya, Sarupya Samipya and finally Kaivalya. Even in Yoga tattva upanishad - Lord Vishnu talks about Kaivalya Moksha is the way to be free from influence of Maya.

So my question is this: Does Kaivalya Moksha alone grant the soul to become absorbed in Parabrahman? Then what about other Mokshas? If that's the case, Is there a chance of falling to this world again in other Mokshas?

  • 1
    These 4 types of Moksha are as per which branch of Vaishnavism? On this site, 5 types of liberation is mentioned.
    – Pinakin
    Aug 31, 2018 at 5:28
  • @ChinmaySarupria It was Rama-Hanuman conversation in upanishads. Aug 31, 2018 at 5:36
  • So 4 types of liberation is not accepted by any branch of Vaishnavism even though Sri Rama said it?
    – Pinakin
    Aug 31, 2018 at 5:37
  • I do not know that which branch of Vaishnavism said it. But my question is - is there falling of the soul from state of Moksha if it's not Kaivalya? If you're in loka of deities - is it sill considered Moksha? When I say deities - Vishnu, Kailash, and Shivaloka. (I am talking about Vishnu among Tridev and not Maha Vishnu) Aug 31, 2018 at 5:41
  • 1
    Ok, you may be interested in Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna, he has mentioned who can return to the world even after attaining the absolute state or knowledge, he described the absolute as Nitya and the world as Lila but added that only a few can stay in the world for the welfare of others after going into Samadhi. Ordinary beings after experiencing Samadhi cannot live longer than 21 days. The beings who can stay in the world even after attaining knowledge are known as Isvarakotis. Sri Ramakrishna, sage Narada, Chaitanya are few of the examples.
    – Pinakin
    Aug 31, 2018 at 7:41

1 Answer 1


Yes among the various kinds of liberation viz- SAlokya, SArshti, SAyujya etc only Kaivalya (also known as NIrvAna Mukti) is eternal in nature.

In this context the Tantrik compendium "ShAktAnanda Tarangini" quotes the following verse in the 16th Chapter of the text:

SakAmAnAm sAyujyAdi muktih sAyujyam na parA muktih sharira samvandhAt |
AkAmAnAm nirvAnameva muktih parama purushArthatvAt || "Na cha punarAvartate " --- Iti sruteh ||

The Mukti that desirous persons (sakAma) get are Sayujya etc. SAyujya is not the eternal or highest form of liberation. Because, [in it] association with the body is still there. The desireless persons (NishkAma) get NirvAna Mukti. Which is the highest goal and even in Sruti it is stated - [He or the liberated being] does not return.

So, the highest form of Mukti, after attaining which one does not return, is not SAyujya and other forms of liberation. It is only the Kaivalya or the NirvAna Mukti.

  • what about devotees in Vaikuntha or Shivaloka? Is it eternal or not? Aug 31, 2018 at 7:15
  • @AkshayKumarS I am not sure what kind of Mukti leads one to Shivaloka/Vishnuloka. But if it's Kaivalya only then there will be no return otherwise there is return.
    – Rickross
    Aug 31, 2018 at 7:19
  • Are the Sayijya, Ekatva and Kaivalya different?
    – Pandya
    Aug 31, 2018 at 10:46
  • 3
    Yes, as per my answer Kaivalya is different from Sayujya Mukti. Kaivalya is the Para Mukti. @Pandya
    – Rickross
    Aug 31, 2018 at 12:02
  • Have just ordered Kaivalya from Amazon. It has been dispatched to its delivery. Very excited. @_@ Sep 9, 2018 at 8:17

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .