Currently, In India, What are the names of the leading heads (peetadhipathi) of pethams formed by Adi Shankaracharya?


1 Answer 1


Adi Shankaracharya established 4 mathas over India. If Kanchi is to be included, then 5.

Govardhana Peetham - H.H Shri Nischalanada Saraswati

Sringeri Sharada peetham - H.H Shri Bharathi Teertha

Dwaraka peetham - H.H Shri Swaroopanand Saraswati (also this site)

Jyothirmath - Currently under dispute

Of course, in the past century, Kanchi mutt has risen to prominence although the historical lineage, timelines are different from those accepted by the atleast one other of the mathas.

Kanchi Kamakoti peetham is currently headed by H.H Shri Sankara Vijayendra Saraswati.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .