Gargamuni, while naming Krishna, mentions that there are four types of complexions incarnations have:

शुक्लरक्तस्तथा पीत इदानीं कृष्णतां गतः।

The while coloured one could be the Hari who was related with the Gajendramoksha and incarnated in the Satya yuga, as He is referred to as शुक्लाम्वरधरं विष्णुं शशिवर्णं चतुर्भुजम्।

According to the Gaudiya Vaishnavas, Mahaprabhu Sri Chaitanya is the yellow-complexioned one, though the major Vaishnava sects dont accept this. Mahaprabhu of course could very well be the yellow-coloured complexioned. But then the red-coloured one becomes the incarnation of the Treta yuga. Who is He? And, who is this yellow-coloured incarnation according to other Vaishnava sects?

  • I think you already mentioned about gaudiya vaishnava view atleast on the yellow colored one, there is no need to tag gaudiya vaishnavism in it. Otherwise it appears that only gaudiya vaishnavs have to answer..
    – user16618
    Jan 22, 2019 at 8:50
  • @RaRe let them let us know about the red one
    – user17294
    Jan 22, 2019 at 8:53
  • @RaRe That was exactly i was asking to OP that does he want the answer from GV perspective , if yes then only the TAG is needed , not in general. Jan 22, 2019 at 8:53
  • duplicate of which incarnations of vishnu has different colors
    – user6981
    Jan 22, 2019 at 9:02
  • If you just wanted the general answer then why you added Gaudiya Vaishnava details in your question.Such a thing lead to misinterpretation.Do avoid adding any irrelevant details in question. Jan 23, 2019 at 4:50

1 Answer 1


The red colored lord is described in 5th chapter of 11th Canto of Srimad Bhagavatam.

SB 11.5.24 — In Tretā-yuga the Lord appears with a red complexion. He has four arms, golden hair, and wears a triple belt representing initiation into each of the three Vedas. Embodying the knowledge of worship by sacrificial performance, which is contained in the Ṛg, Sāma and Yajur Vedas, His symbols are the ladle, spoon and other implements of sacrifice.

SB 11.5.25 — In Tretā-yuga, those members of human society who are fixed in religiosity and are sincerely interested in achieving the Absolute Truth worship Lord Hari, who contains within Himself all the demigods. The Lord is worshiped by the rituals of sacrifice taught in the three Vedas.

SB 11.5.26 — In Tretā-yuga the Lord is glorified by the names Viṣṇu, Yajña, Pṛśnigarbha, Sarvadeva, Urukrama, Vṛṣākapi, Jayanta and Urugāya.

  • Any detailed description of the yellow coloured one?
    – user17294
    Jan 22, 2019 at 10:10
  • @ParthaBanerjee you know how gaudiya vaishnavas explain it. There is no specific description like the above one about that in this chapter.
    – user16618
    Jan 22, 2019 at 10:23

You must log in to answer this question.