AFAIK, Rig veda says, every star is related to a God and hence everyday is special day(festival) to worship a specific god, what are those stars and to which god does they relate to?

  • 1
    Where did you get the idea that the Rig Veda talks about each star being related to a god? You can read the Rig Veda here; it doesn't discuss that subject at all: sacred-texts.com/hin/rigveda/index.htm The oldest texts that discuss astronomy/astrology are the Shulba Sutras and the Vedanga Jyotisha. – Keshav Srinivasan Oct 6 '14 at 7:04
  • To clarify do you mean birth stars, or every star in the sky? – Keshav Srinivasan Oct 6 '14 at 8:14
  • 1
    @KeshavSrinivasan 27 birth stars. I heard that from a pundit. – pbvamsi Oct 7 '14 at 9:37

There are 27 Star ( Nakshatra ).

They are,

Ashlesha (nakshatra)
Pūrva Phalgunī (Pubbha)
Uttara Phalgunī (Uttara)
Pūrva Ashādhā
Uttara Ashādhā
Pūrva Bhādrapadā
Uttara Bhādrapadā

You can say all these are देवता (devta) but not god (bhagwan).

To know more Nakshatra.

  • I'm trying to learn which star is connected to which god, I'm not saying star is a god – pbvamsi Oct 7 '14 at 9:38
  • 1
    @pbvamsi - The followong stars are associsted with their rrspective deities. Shravana -> Vishnu, Arudra->Siva, Uttara -> Goddess Lakshmi, Rohini -> Krishna, Swati->Narasimha, Punarvasu -> Raama – user808 Apr 6 '15 at 15:19
  • 1
    @Krishna What is the reason that Shravana Nakshatram is associated with Vishnu? If you know the answer, you can answer my question here: hinduism.stackexchange.com/q/3058/36 – Keshav Srinivasan Apr 6 '15 at 17:27
  • @Krishna Please post your comment as an answer. Add more information if you can. Thanks! – pbvamsi Apr 10 '15 at 2:46

I find the answer by Saurabh Chandra Patel incomplete. Some of the Nakshatras are named after Devatas etc. For example, the Ashwini twins are considered as Devatas. Although, most of the Nakshatras are not e.g, Mula, Purva Ashadha, Hasta etc. Hasta means hand, Mula means root and these are not Devatas in itself.

In Jyotisha, most Nakshatras are considered to be associated with presiding deities. This can be considered as the relatoionship between these stars and the Gods. In addition to that, they are ruled by different planets which are also considered Gods.

This list provides the name of the Nakshatra followed by the presiding deity followed by the ruling planet (in some cases, only the ruling planet is mentioned):

Ashvini * Ketu

Bharani * Shukra * Venus

Krittika * Surya * Sun

Rohini * Brahmi * Chandra * Soma

Mrigashirsha * Mangala

Arudra * Rahu

Punarvasu * Yamaka * Guru

Pushyami * Sidhya * Shani * Saturn

Azlesa * Naga * Budha * Mercury

Magha * Pitri * Ketu

Purva-phalguni * Yoni* Shukra * Venus

Uttara-phalguni * Aryamna * Surya

Hasta * Savitra * Chandra * Somana

Chitra * Tvastri * Mangala

Swati * Vayu Arcturus * Rahu

Bishaja * Vishaka * Radha * Guru

Anuradha * Maitra * Shani * Saturn

Jyestha * Ketta * Budha * Mercury

Mula * Alakshmi * Ketu

Purvazadha * Apah * Shukra * Venus

Uttara-azadha * Vaizva * Surya

Shravana * Hari * Chandra * Somana

Dhaniztha * Sravishtha * Mangala

Shatavishaka * Shatatakara * Rahu

Purva-bhadra-pada * Prosthapada Pegasus * Guru

Uttara-bhadra-pada * Ahira-budhnaya * Shani * Saturn

Revati * Pushan * Budha * Mercury

Taken from the website of Barbara Pijan Lama: http://www.barbarapijan.com/bpa/Nakshatra_radical/nakshatra_main_page.htm

  • What is meant by 'professor'? (I didn't know that the devas had a part time job in a university? :p ) – Surya May 5 '16 at 8:49
  • 1
    @Surya: lolol the lady is not Indian but has studied Jyotisha deeply, I will delete that term – Amit Saxena May 5 '16 at 8:59

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .