The first chapter of 1st skanda of Devi Bhagavatam says this

6-10. O Sūta! These Munis assembled here are desirous to hear the holy Purāṇa Samhitā, that yields religious merits. So describe this to ns with your mind concentrated. O all-knowing Sūta! Live long and be free from the threefold sorrows of existence. O highly fortunate one! Narrate to us the Purāṇa equivalent to the Vedas. O Sūta! Those persons that do not hear the Purāṇas, are certainly deprived by the Creator, though they have apparently the organ of hearing, of the power of tasting the sweet essence of words; because, the organ of hearing is gratified then and then only when it hears the words of the wise men, just as the organ of taste is satisfied then and then only when it tastes the six kinds of rasas (flavour, taste) (sweet, sour, pungent, bitter, salty, and astringent). This is known to all. The serpents that are void of the organ of hearing are enchanted by sweet music; then why should not those persons that have the organs of hearing and are averse to hear the Purāṇas, be thrown under the category of the deaf?

11-18. O Saumya! Hence all these Brāhmins, being distressed with the fear of this Kali, have come here to this Naimisāraṇya, eager to hear attentively the Purāṇas, and are staying here with this one object. Time must be spent away anyhow or other; those that are fools while away their times in sports and other evil practices and those that are learned pass away their times in meditating on the Śāstras; but these Śāstras are too vast and very varied; they contain Jalpas (debates or wrangling discussions to win over the opposite party), Vadas (sound doctrines to arrive at just conclusions), and various Arthavādas (explanations and assertions, recommending Vidhis or precepts by stating the good arising from its proper observance and evils arising from its omission and also by adducing historical instances for its support; praises and eulogies) and filled with many argumentations. And, amongst these Śāstras again, the Vedānta is the Sāttvik, the Mimāmsas are the Rājasik and the Nyāya Śāstras with Hetuvādas, are the Tāmasik; so the Śāstras are varied.

I am not able to understand why is Vedanta classified as sattvic, Mimamsa as Rajasik and Nyaya as Tamasik.

And surprisingly, Devi Bhagavatam advocates reading Vedanta


Therefore, O King! Keep to the company of the good and hear the Śāstras, Vedānta, etc., and free the heart of worldly desires and then concentrate it to the worship of the Devī and live in a sacred place of pilgrimage. Men afraid and troubled with the defects of the Kālīyuga, should always take the name of the Devī, sing praises, and meditate on Her lotus feet. Thus the Jīvas will not have any fear of Kālī and the fallen vicious persons will easily be able to cross this ocean of the world and be free. There is no doubt in this.

Where can I get Shakta Vedanata commentary?

  • 1
    interpolations in many puranas.. – Rakesh Joshi Mar 11 at 17:55

You must log in to answer this question.