According to Dvaita, there are three categories. Jada, Jeeva and Ishwara.

Now Ishwara is Narayana. What are other Gods or Devathas? Like Lakshmi, Brahma, Saraswathi, Rudra, Devi, Indra, Surya etc etc

Are these Jeevatmas, if so are these Mukthathmas or Bandhatmas?, If these are Bandhatmas where will they go after Mukthi?

Or are these Avathara roopas like Rama, Krishna and Vishnu (One for the Adityas, A form of Narayana) or Amsha Roopas like Parashurama and Kapila etc etc

Please if you can give references it will be helpful.

  • 2
    According to madvacharya Rama Krishna are not different from moola swaroopa of lord they are not amsa as you mentioned – Prasanna R May 12 '19 at 1:56
  • 2
    Even Dwaitins don't differentiate between Parashuramm Kapila and moola swaroopa – Krishna Varna May 12 '19 at 5:43
  • 1
    Yes @Krishna Varna In dashavatra Balaram is not there because he is avesha of Vishnu is there Kapil's is very much there as moolaroopa but there is later Kapila who ignored God – Prasanna R May 12 '19 at 5:59
  • 1
    Gods Nail are not different from God himself.. so there is not concept of amsha avatar but avesha is different concept altogether – Prasanna R May 12 '19 at 8:53
  • 1
    devatas are satvik jeeva there is no or little rajasic.. quality no tamasic quality until unless they are having asura avesha – Prasanna R May 12 '19 at 14:10

1.When Paramatma is One and only one, every other sentient being is considered a jiva, with a catch- except Lakshmi, the divine mother, who is in a class of her own. The chetanas are classified into dukhasprshta and tadasprshta, only Rama or Lakshmi is in the second category- nityaadukhaa ramaanyetu sprshta dukhaa: samastasha: (Sri Madhva, Tatvasankhyanam). Only Goddess Lakshmi is nityamuktaa. All others starting from Chaturmukha Brahma and Mukhyaprana, the Brahma in the next kalpa, are currently in samsara only.

The current Brahma at the end of his kalpa, takes all those whose sadhana has fructified into aparoksha jnana into Mukthi- Muktha Vaikuntha, leaving those at the higher levels who are capable of doing sadhana for many more kalpas to assume the positions of Brahma, Vayu, Shesha, Rudra etc in the succeeding kalpas.

2.In the Madhva system, all avataras are poorna only and are not different from the Mula rupa of the paramatma. The shruti vakya "neha naanaasti kinchana" means that there is no svagata bheda in the Paramatma- whether in the mula rupa itself, or between the mula and the avatara forms. The former means that his eyes (or for that matter, any other part) are not different from his legs and hands or tongue and viceversa.


Madhwism has a complete gradation (Taratamya) of divinities.


Here is the top 10:

1). shrI viShNu - sarvOththama:

2). shrI MahA LakshmI dEvi - nithya mukthaLu:

3).a) shrI BraHma b) shrI MukhyaprANa VAyu c) All RujUs

4).a) shrI Sarasvathi Devi(Dharmapathni of Lord Brahma) b) shrI BhArathi Devi(Dharmapathni of Lord MukhyaprANa VAyu) c) All RujupathnIs

5). a) shrI Garuda b) shrI ShESha c) shrI Rudhra

6). shrI krUShNA's ShaNmahishi's a) shrI JAmbavathi b) shrI Bhadhra c) shrI NIla d) shrI KAlimdhi e) shrI Mithravimdha f) shrI LaxaNa

7).a) shrI SauparaNi (Dharmapathni of shrI garuda) b) shrI VAruNi (Dharmapathni of shrI shESha) c) shrI PArvathi (Dharmapathni of shrI rudhra)

8).a) shrI Imdhra (sachIpathi) b) shrI KAma

9). shrI AhamkArika prANa

10).a) shrI SvAyambhu Manu b) shrI DhaxaprajApathi c) shrI BRuhaspathyAchArya d) shrI Shachi (Dharmapathni of shrI imdhra) e) shrI Rathi (Dharmapathni of shrI kAma) f) shrI AnirudhDha (Son of shrI kAma)

You must log in to answer this question.