Parabrahman is the highest supreme god in Hinduism. Saguna brahman refers to the parabrahman with gunas.

Saguna brahman is also called as Upasya Brahman.

Siva, Vishnu, Krishna, Rama, Balarama, Radha, Kali, Bhuvaneswari etc., are (some) saguna parabrahmans as per scriptures.

Are saguna parabrahmans finite? If yes, then how many Gods of saguna Parabrahman stature are there in Hinduism?

  • Nice question. You probably mean personification of the parabrahman. – Wikash_ Oct 10 '19 at 3:58
  • @Wikash_ Yeah.... true...... – hanugm Oct 10 '19 at 4:01
  • Parabrahman refers to Nirguna Brahman. Saguna Brahman refers to Iswara. We only perceive Brahman through Saguna Brahman. The various names of the Lord refer to his embodiment as Saguna Brahman. – Swami Vishwananda Oct 10 '19 at 5:15
  • @SwamiVishwananda yeah, edited. – hanugm Oct 10 '19 at 5:36
  • 2
    As I already said NATURE is the visible form of the God. Remaining are perceptions only. So they can be infinite.@hanugm – Srimannarayana K V Oct 10 '19 at 7:30

Rig vedic seers foresaw this type of doubts long back. That was why they stated that there is only ONE BRAHMAN, but might be called in different names by the knowledgeable persons.

Rig Veda I.164.46

इन्द्रं मित्रं वरुणमग्निमाहुरथो दिव्यः स सुपर्णो गरुत्मान | एकं सद विप्रा बहुधा वदन्त्यग्निं यमं मातरिश्वानमाहुः ||

They call him Indra, Mitra, Varuṇa, Agni, and he is heavenly nobly-winged Garutmān. To what is One, sages give many a title they call it Agni, Yama, Mātariśvan.

Same mantra can be applied to the present day different deities, Shiva, Vishnu, Ganapati, Shakti, etc.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .