I think many of us have heard of this statement

भाग्यं फलति सर्वत्र, न च विद्या, न च पौरुषं or Bhagyam phalati sarvatra, na cha vidyaa, na cha paurusham

Which basically means that knowledge and masculine courage/being energetic are useless as everything is based on your Bhaagya / Destiny. Is this based on any sacred scripture?

I have heard that you can easily change your long-term destiny by performing some austerities. In fact, even weak and destructive planets can be changed.

Which view is correct according to different scriptures?

  • 1
    Markandeya Muni was destined to die at 16. We all know what transpired then and how he was blessed to live even after the Kalpanta Pralaya.
    – Vivikta
    May 20 '21 at 16:16
  • Does this answer your question? Does praying to God help attain that which is not present in our destiny
    – YDS
    May 20 '21 at 17:44
  • No these are stories of gods themselves talking and intervening... which never happens in life... unless maybe youre an extreme sadhak of shiva or shakti who has done many many years of sadna
    – R. Kaushik
    May 20 '21 at 17:54
  • @R.Kaushik Do you require an exact jyotish answer, which tells you what part of destiny you can change and what you can't?
    – Swapnil
    May 22 '21 at 5:18
  • @Agni Yes please! But it doesn't just have to be from Jyotish shastr... can be from any other text containing Jyotish like Puraan or Tantra sruti
    – R. Kaushik
    May 22 '21 at 11:05
  • Among Vedangas, Jyotisha was created to understand karma and its dynamics. We shall use the same and see which part of our destiny is fixed and which is changeable.

One must understand that freewill isn't granted in whole, it comes in parts. What this basically implies is that we certainly have freewill in some aspects of life, while for others, we don't. But even that is decided on the basis of our previous karma.

All aspects of life exercise grahana on us, which simply means they cage or contain the native (through maya). Systems which describe those aspects of life are therefore, called grahas.

  • To understand karma pertaining of each of these aspects of life, one shall thus examine the grahas in navamsa chakra, as it shows the bhagya (destiny) of the native.

In the native's jataka, locate the position of planets in the D-9 chart and look for the following:

  • If the planet is in a chara rashi, then Siva allows flexibility through knowledge. Basically, you can overcome the karma through knowledge and application of intellect.

  • If in a dwisvabhava rashi, then Visnu will allow the difficulty to be overcome through remedial measures. Therefore, resources can help the native come out of the difficulty.

  • At last, if the planet is in a sthira rashi, both Siva and Visnu have shunned the person in overcoming the karmas. You need cry and pray for Shakti's compassion to come out of the problem. Usually, this is very difficult and next to impossible.

  • You might notice some grahas occupying the same sign in rashi and navamsa chakra. Such a graha is called rashi vargottama. Though, popularly thought of being a positive placement, this shows that the karma pertaining to that aspect of life is absolutely unchangeable, for it has gained the approval of dharma itself.

Acknowledgement: This secret technique was originally revealed by the Achyutananda Das tradition of Puri, Odisha, Pt. Sanjay Rath being one of the gurus of the same. Personally, I learnt this technique from one of his students, Shri Visti Larsen.

  • Thank you for your answer! But I think this is not from any sacred scripture - Can you please give quotations from Hindu scriptures like Puraans, Sruti, Itihaas or Brighu / Ravan jyotish sastr?
    – R. Kaushik
    May 22 '21 at 14:00
  • 1
    Welcome. I'll tomorrow try editing the answer with scriptural quotes if I find any. Regading techniques, Achyutananda Das was a direct disciple of Chaitanya MahaPrabhu and therefore belongs to a strict lineage of Vedanga. They've hardly written down any secrets on text, just like any other tradition. Therefore, this has been passed orally.
    – Swapnil
    May 22 '21 at 15:37

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .