In Ullasa 13 of Kaularnava Tantra, verse 76, Shree Shiva says to Shree Devi one of the characteristics of Guru:

पिण्डं पदं तथा रूपं रूपातीतं चतुष्टयम यो वा सम्यग्विजानाति स गुरुः कथितः प्रिये ।। ७६ ।।

O My Beloved! Who knows well these Four-the Pinda, Pada, Rüpa and the Rūpātīta, he is called the Guru.

I have never heard of these four term, and there is no explanation to these in consecutive verses. Do we have any explanation of these 4 term in any other Tantra text?

  • 1
    In Guru Gita (Skandha Purana we have): श्रीपार्वती उवाच । पिण्डं किं तु महादेव पदं किं समुदाहृतम् ।रूपातीतं च रूपं किं एतदाख्याहि शंकर ॥ Shree Parvati asked: O Lord Mahadeva, please explain these terms to me – What are pinda, pada and rupa? And is there more beyond them? श्रीमहादेव उवाच । पिण्डं कुण्डलिनी शक्तिः पदं हंसमुदाहृतम् ।रूपं बिन्दुरिति ज्ञेयं रूपातीतं निरञ्जनम् ॥ Shree Mahadeva answered: Kundalini Shakti is Pinda, Pada means Hamsa, Rupa is Bindu and Rupatita is Niranjana.
    – Tezz
    May 27, 2021 at 14:57
  • @Tezz Post that as answer but with more details on Bindu and Niranjana.
    – TheLittleNaruto
    May 27, 2021 at 16:49

1 Answer 1


From Kashmir Saivism The Pada (पद) represents one of the four stages of creation corresponding to the Anāhata-cakra, and is explained in terms of kuṇḍalinī by Lakṣmaṇadeśika in his 11th-century Śaradātilaka verse 25.62.—“The ‘solid mass’ (piṇḍa) is doubtlessly the kuṇḍalinī, equivalent to Śiva; the “position” (pada), on the other hand, is doubtlessly the haṃsaḥ, the inner Self of all. The “form” (rūpa) is doubtlessly the bindu of infinite lustre; the blissful union (sāmarasya) with Śiva is “form transcended” (atītarūpa)”.

Note: The terms piṇḍa, pada, rūpa and rūpātīta refer to four stages of creation. These four are also said to correspond to four Cakras: piṇḍa to mūlādhāra, pada to anāhata, rūpa to ājñā and rūpātīta to sahasrāra.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .