Each sect/subsect within Hinduism has its own dedicated 'sectarian holy markings" known as Tilaka (तिलक).

For Instance:

  • The Śaivaites (शैव) - the worshippers of god Śiva as the Supreme, wears the Tripuṇḍra Tilaka (त्रिपुण्ड्र-तिलक).

  • The Śāktas (शाक्त) - the worshippers of the great goddess Parā-Śakti as the Supreme, wears a red dot (Bindu) as their Tilaka.

  • The Vaiṣṇavas (वैष्णव) - the worshipper of god Viṣṇu (or Kṛṣṇa or Rāma, etc.) as the Supreme, wears the Ūrdhvapuṇḍra Tilaka (ऊर्ध्वपुण्ड्र-तिलक) or it's sub-variations.

There are two other deities viz. Gaṇeśa & Sūrya with their own dedicated sects - Gāṇapatyas (गाणपत्य) and Sauras (सौर), respectively. Together these five deities form the part of the Pañcāyatana (पञ्चायतन) or Pañcāyatanapūjā form of worship, which is specifically observed by the followers of the Smārta tradition (स्मार्तधर्म).

In any case, the three out of the five deities of the Pañcāyatana - Śiva, Śakti & Viṣṇu have their own dedicated Tilakas for their sects.

Do the sects of the other two deities (Gaṇeśa & Sūrya) have their dedicated Tilakas?

What Tilakas do the Gāṇapatyas (गाणपत्य) and the Sauras (सौर) wear?

What is the name of Tilakas worn by the Gāṇapatyas and Sauras?

  • 3
    Ganapatya wear urdhva pundra see last part of this answer.
    – Second
    Mar 13, 2022 at 9:15
  • 1
    Yeah, I read your answer way back, @Proxy .... But, I think the problem is more like Brahmâ's tilaka, because in various depictions we can find huge variations. For instance - See this image chart & this image chart. There seems a bigger variation in case of Gāṇapatyas.
    – Vivikta
    Mar 14, 2022 at 2:16
  • 1
    Nice! Lets see if someone has got more details on this.
    – Second
    Mar 14, 2022 at 4:14


You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .