someone says in Quora

Entire Swaminarayan Smapraday is divided into around 45+ different sects.

Is that correct?

1 Answer 1


Yes. Multiple subsets have emerged

New Swaminarayan Sects

As it happened, the greatest schism in the Swaminarayan movement was prompted not by outsiders but came from within. In 1906 a sādhu, Swami Yagnapurushdas, left the Vadtal temple. In 1907 he established the first new Swaminarayan sect, the Bochasanwasi Shri Akshar Purushottam Swaminarayan Sanstha (BAPS). Headquartered in Ahmedabad, Gujarat, BAPS claims over one million followers worldwide including both laity and ascetics.


More so than the original sect, BAPS is a global movement and, early on, it embraced new technologies to support its transnational growth. It runs a large...


The wealthy BAPS organization is criticized by dam opponents for acting to protect its class interests, including those of its land holding members. In response, BAPS followers who are familiar with the Narmada controversy point to the various village relocation and community rehabilitation projects voluntarily instigated and funded by BAPS.

In addition to BAPS's break from the original Swaminarayan satsaṅg, other schisms have occurred. In 1966 a handful of East African BAPS followers broke away and founded the Yogi Divine Society.

Additionally, sādhus from the original movement have left to form their own institutions that sometimes (e.g., Swaminarayan Gurukuls) but not always (e.g., Swaminarayan Gadi) retain an affiliation with their gāddī.

Kim, Hanna H. (2005), "Swaminarayan Movement", in Jones, Lindsay (ed.), Encyclopedia of Religion: 15-Volume Set, vol. 13 (2nd ed.), Detroit, Mi: MacMillan

So, indeed there are multiple subsects, a perfect count of which currently might be unfeasible, as such which are many.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .