There are 18 maha puranas in Sanathan Dharma. They can be classified based on their gunas. The following is the classification with some caveats

Bhagavata, Vishnu, Garuda, Matsya, Kurma and Vayu are Satvika Puranas.

Skanda, Padma, Varaha, Vamana, Agni and Bhavishya are Rajasa Puranas

Brahma, Brahmananda, Brahmavaivarta, Linga, Markandeya and Aditya are Tamasa Puranas.

In this context, I have the following doubt(s)

Do we need to interpret the statements in those Puranas based on their corresponding gunas? or does it depend on the ishta diety also? or do gunas tell us about the knowledge level required by the reader to interpret them?

  • Please try to comment the reason for down-vote if possible.
    – hanugm
    May 2, 2022 at 15:58
  • @SK Please provide a link. I heard from authentic preachings also.
    – hanugm
    May 2, 2022 at 16:02
  • 2
    @hanugm The classification you've given is not the only classification found in scriptures. You can find a different one here -- hinduism.stackexchange.com/a/46389/4732
    – Rickross
    May 2, 2022 at 16:25
  • 1
    First of all gunas based classification is found in Shaiva perspective also Skanda Purana, Samhita Version. Secondly, this triguna classification is not unique to Vaisnavas- Shiva Purana Verse does say, Vishnu is internally Tamsika, while Rudra is internally Sattvika. So, these classifications sounds more like sectarian interpolations rather than anything to do with "knowledge-level". P.S. I didn't Downvote.
    – Vivikta
    May 2, 2022 at 16:25
  • 1
    @Rickross Oh... I will then need to edit it asap... Thanks...
    – hanugm
    May 2, 2022 at 18:55


You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .