It is said in all Vedas and Puranas that everything happened in and around India during Treta Yuga and Dwapara Yuga.

Then what about the rest of the world during that time?

Was it barren? Was nobody living there?

I have heard about the Aztec World and the Pyramids of Egypt. Were they present the same time as Treta and Dwapara Yuga?

Also, in Satya Yuga, who lived? Were there human beings or just Manu and the 7 sages? And did they live on Earth or somewhere else or spread across the entire universe?

  • I think yes everyone was in the same Yuga across the Earth. Because as I understand it Yugas are not restricted only to India but the whole world. Also I think there were not only humans in Sathya Yuga, it was an Earth filled with diverse creatures similar to how it is now. I think it is mentioned in the story of Manu. Good q sir
    – Sai
    Apr 21, 2015 at 14:29
  • @Sai Actually there are confusing statements in a lot of scriptures that suggest that the four Yugas are limited to Bharata Varsha. Like the Vishnu Purana says "In the eight realms of Kimpurusha and the rest (or all exclusive of Bhárata) there is no sorrow, nor weariness, nor anxiety, nor hunger, nor apprehension; their inhabitants are exempt from all infirmity and pain, and live in uninterrupted enjoyment for ten or twelve thousand years.... In those places there is no distinction of Krita, Treta, or any succession of ages." Apr 22, 2015 at 2:30
  • @KeshavSrinivasan that is quite confusing :) but then different scriptures and different saints do appear to say different things about the Yuga system in general. I also remember reading one of your comments that the Yuga system is hardly if at all mentioned in the Vedas or Upanishads.Thanks for sharing that information Keshav.
    – Sai
    Apr 22, 2015 at 3:20
  • @Sai Well, I haven't found any scriptures that explicitly make the opposite claim, for instance a claim that the people of Illavrita Varsha experience four Yugas, which is what makes this so confusing. But yeah, it is true that the Yugas are almost never mentioned in the Vedas. But that's a species of a more general phenomenon; people in the Vedic period didn't even know that Matsya, Kurma, and Varaha were incarnations of Vishnu! There are a great many facts that people only learned once the Puranas were composed by Vyasa, see my answer here: hinduism.stackexchange.com/a/6896/36 Apr 22, 2015 at 3:41
  • 1
    @KeshavSrinivasan You're right. Four Yugas are for only Bharatvarsha.
    – user6990
    Nov 15, 2017 at 4:51

1 Answer 1


One must understand that the created world cannot be in a singular state. There are multiple cycles within cycles. The larger cycles are with respect to the divine and determines how much of percentage of the divine can one be born with which will also determine how much one can understand the divine. The smaller cycles will determine the type of environment or mind space one gets to experience. For example, if you are in a war zone it is Kali yuga, if you are sitting in a temple you are in Treta Yuga. If you are quietly meditating you are definitely in Satya Yuga. If you blame others for your follies you are in Kali Yuga. If you take responsibility and understand that the solution to your problems lies within you are in satya yuga.

In the below link Bhishma Pitamahan is explaing to Yudishtir about the Yuga. https://hinduism.stackexchange.com/a/22028/12223

The below link gives what Sri Krishna explains yuga during Mahabharata war. https://hinduism.stackexchange.com/a/21454/12223

  • 1
    "For example, if you are in a war zone it is Kali yuga, if you are sitting in a temple you are in Treta Yuga. If you are quietly meditating you are definitely in Satya Yuga" --is this your own opinion, or you got from some source?
    – user17294
    Feb 24, 2019 at 18:12

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .