Every Hindu is well aware of (male) trinities, but I have also heard that there are female trinities too.

Is that correct?

  • 4
    loosely, one can say that Laskshmi, Saraswati and Parvati are female trinity, but all of them are considered part of Shakti. Jul 4, 2014 at 5:33
  • Make this comment as a better answer...
    – Kiran RS
    Jul 4, 2014 at 15:54

2 Answers 2


One can view Lakshmi, Saraswati, and Parvati (Kali) as the female trinity.

They are the wives/female counterparts of Vishnu, Brahma and Shiva, respectively.



The male trinity is essentially incomplete without a female trinity.
The female trinity comprises of Saraswati, Laxmi and Shakti who are the consorts of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva respectively.

  • Saraswati embodies knowledge (needed by Brahma to create)
  • Laxmi embodies wealth (needed by Vishnu to sustain)
  • Shakti embodies power (needed by Shiva to destroy)

The three Goddesses are seen as one entity and together called Devi, Tridevi or Adi-Maya-Shakti or Adi Parashakti

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .