According to Vishnu Puran, Lord Vishnu created Lord Shiva and according to Shiva Purana it's vice versa. In Devi Bhagavata Purana, Adi Shakti created both Lord Vishnu and Lord Shiva. So, what is the actual truth?

  • see my question hinduism.stackexchange.com/questions/8527/…
    – The Destroyer
    Oct 20, 2015 at 13:05
  • 6
    Vishnu(Brahman) created Rudra (not Shiva) and Shiva(Brahman) created Narayana( may be called as lesser vishnu). Shiva purana explicitly mentions Shiva as Brahman and Rudra aka Shankara as amsa of him.
    – The Destroyer
    Oct 20, 2015 at 14:25
  • @AnilKumar I wish you may elaborate this as an answer!
    – pbvamsi
    Jan 1, 2016 at 9:49
  • 1
    @pbvamsi some people will not accept this as answer.
    – The Destroyer
    Jan 2, 2016 at 17:22

2 Answers 2


Vishnu,Shiva and Brahma are form of Brahman. They are not different. Once Rishi Markandeya told Parvati's parents King Himavan and Menavati the story of Brahma,Vishnu and Shiva. In the story,Himavan and Menavati found that Brahma,Vishnu and Shiva are same.


According to Srimad Bhagavatam written by A.C Bhaktivedanta Srila Prabhupada, Lord Brahma came from navel of supreme personality of God head Sri Maha Vishnu . Lord brahma created the four kumaraya & told them to take responsibility of the procreation of the universe. They did not obey him. So Lord Brahma Ji got angry & from his eye brows came a baby crying. That is Lord Rudra. ( Lord Shiva )
He is the Lord of destruction. Lord Vishnu is the maintainer.

You must log in to answer this question.