We know that there are five to ten characteristics (Lakshana) of Purana which are discussed in this post. A similar question also asked for Itihasa. I want to know are there any characteristics of Brahmanas mentioned in scripture or in works of Acharyas?

  • What is the purpose of using consistent transliteration? That too only for single letter in the title only and not anywhere else? Commented Jul 1, 2019 at 4:21
  • @Sarvabhouma when one reads only title of question from the list of questions, there is possibility of reading Brahman rather than BrAhmana.
    – Pandya
    Commented Jul 1, 2019 at 4:22
  • You very well know title is not the complete question. We should do standardization everywhere. There is only one Brahman. Not multiple. We have tags to denote that it is Brahmanas and not Brahman. Brahmana is not same as Brahman. Even if it is not clear, then use proper transliteration according to some scheme. write brAhmaNa is ITRANS. not BrAhmana Commented Jul 1, 2019 at 4:31
  • @Sarvabhouma Yes, corrected as per ITRANS.
    – Pandya
    Commented Jul 1, 2019 at 4:33

1 Answer 1


Yes, Brahmans are the very important text and part of Vedas, which contains instructions and explanation to the sacrifices and rituals and procedures for performing them. There are ten characteristics of Brahmanas described by Shabara Swami in his Bhashya on (Purva) Mimansa Sutras of Jaimini.

Shabara Bhashya on Purva Mimansa Sutra 2.1.33:

हेतुर्निर्वचनं निन्दा प्रशंसा संशयो विधिः। परक्रिया पुराकल्पो व्यवधारणकल्पना ।।
उपमानं दशैते तु विधयो ब्राह्मणस्य तु। एतद्वै सर्ववेदेषु नियतं विधिलक्षणम् ।।

Heturnirvacanaṃ Nindā Praśaṃsā Saṃśayo Vidhiḥ। Parakriyā Purākalpo Vyavadhāraṇakalpanā ।।
Upamānaṃ Daśaite tu Vidhayo Brāhmaṇasya tu। etadvai sarvavedeṣu niyataṃ vidhilakṣaṇam ।।

They are as follows:

  1. Hetu i.e statement of reason is the description of the cause for the sacrifice.
  2. Nirvachana i.e interpretation or etymology is the derivational interpretation of the words
  3. Nindā i.e depreciation is the the discouragement of the forbidden acts.
  4. Praśaṃsā i.e eulogation is the encouragement of the good acts.
  5. Saṃśaya i.e doubt is the clarification of doubts.
  6. Vidhi i.e injunction is the direction and order of rites in sacrifices.
  7. Parakriyā i.e act of others is the description of goodness of the sub-ordinate rites in main sacrifice.
  8. Purākalpa i.e ancient history is the description of historical incidents and stories.
  9. Vyavadhāraṇakalpanā i.e assumption of transposition is the arrangement of the instruments and objects in the sacrifice according to the ircumstances.
  10. Upamānaṃ i.e analogy is the example.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .